COOKIES: We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. You can see our cookie policy here. Please click agree to remove this message.

Sections

Opinion

liam kennedy

The right balance

April 2018 (magazine)By

In a world that has demanded greater levels of robustness of financial institutions since the financial crisis, regulators are also faced with how to calibrate the funding requirements of pension funds

daniel ben ami

Protectionism is already doing harm

April 2018 (magazine)By

The investment industry is, with good reason, worried about the prospect of a trade war

carlo svaluto moreolo

Investment advisers need to up their game

April 2018 (magazine)By

The UK’s competition watchdog is carrying out an investigation on pension fund investment consultants and fiduciary managers, which could transform the industry

nick reeve

Ireland: The risk of promising too much on reform

April 2018 (magazine)

Ireland must be careful of overpromising when it comes to what its reforms can achieve, or it will lose a golden opportunity to boost public trust in the pension system

Conference Diary: Private markets at SuperReturn

April 2018 (magazine)By

Bank disintermediation since the financial crisis has proven a big opportunity for private equity firms to boost their direct lending and other private-debt activities

Book Review: Pension lessons from abroad

April 2018 (magazine)By

Pensions as an area of public policy are uniquely steeped in peculiarities. National social-political traditions, labour market practice, and tax legislation are just a few of these

All Opinion

getting behind the stewardship bullshit on carillion

Long Term Matters: Getting behind the stewardship bullshit on Carillion

April 2018 (magazine)By Raj Thamotheram

Every so often things go so wrong that players are forced to come clean. Which is what has started to happen with Carillion. And it’s not a pretty sight

diary of an investor pieter mullen

Diary of an Investor: Imperfect foresight

March 2018 (magazine)By

‘Administration!’ declares Geert, our head of investment research one morning. ‘Not a sexy subject.’

Long Term Matters: What my illness is teaching me about investment

March 2018 (magazine)By Raj Thamotheram

When diagnosed with life-threatening conditions, we can be devastated, run from the diagnosis or embrace it and adapt. No prizes for guessing the smarter choice. The same goes for investment decision-makers today

luke hildyard

Guest viewpoint: Luke Hildyard

March 2018 (magazine)By

“The potential impact of climate change on investments should be considered at least on an annual basis”

All Columns

luke hildyard

Guest viewpoint: Luke Hildyard

March 2018 (magazine)By

“The potential impact of climate change on investments should be considered at least on an annual basis”

keith ambachtsheer

Guest Viewpoint: Keith Ambachtsheer

February 2018 (magazine)By

“CFA curriculum material should become more future-oriented and address awkward topics”

will goodhart

Guest Viewpoint: Will Goodhart, CFA UK

January 2018 (magazine)

“The responsibility for making our profession more representative of the society we serve ultimately sits with all of us”

gregg mc clymont

Guest viewpoint: Greg McClymont

December 2017 (Magazine)By

Pension systems everywhere are either struggling to manage the shift from defined benefit (DB) to defined contribution (DC) or contemplating the journey

Guest Viewpoint: Sarah Keohane Williamson & Matthew Leatherman

November 2017 (Magazine)

“The selection of a benchmark is secondary to many other provisions for encouraging long-term behaviour”

robin ellison

Guest Viewpoint: Robin Ellison

October 2017 (Magazine)

“The FCA has picked the wrong fight. We need a way to rate alternative investments”

Guest viewpoint: Stefan Lundbergh & Kerrin Rosenberg, Cardano

July / August 2017 (Magazine)By ,

“At present, UK trustees do not have the right governance framework in place to be effective or accountable” 

Guest Viewpoint: Avida International

June 2017 (Magazine)

“Fiduciary management has turned into a sophisticated exercise of managing increasingly complex investment value chains” 

All Guest Viewpoint

IPE QUEST

Your first step in manager selection...

IPE Quest is a manager search facility that connects institutional investors and asset managers.

Begin Your Search Here