COOKIES: We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. You can see our cookie policy here. Please click agree to remove this message.

Sections

Opinion

liam kennedy

Time to beef up UK supervision

October 2018 (magazine)By

With assets of in excess of £1.8trn, DB occupational pensions easily represent the single largest stock of financial savings in the UK

daniel ben ami

Catching up on China

October 2018 (magazine)By

The typical investor is probably behind the times when it comes to understanding the implications of China’s rise

carlo svaluto moreolo

Waiting for the next downturn

October 2018 (magazine)By

The current global economic expansion continues more-or-less unabated but the potential causes of the next downturn seem clear

nick reeve

A retirement storm is coming

October 2018 (magazine)By

Stormy weather caused disruption for delegates at last month’s Longevity 14 conference in Amsterdam – and discussions lingered on metaphorical storm clouds ahead for retirement systems around the globe.

Accounting Matters: Drawing a line in the sand

October 2018 (magazine)By

Standard setters’ focus on risk-sharing pensions recalls previous abandoned attempts to reconcile non-DB and DC accounting approaches

raj thamotheram

Long-Term Matters: Disruptive change is coming – which side will you choose?

October 2018 (magazine)By Raj Thamotheram

Prof Jeffrey Pfeffer, one of the most influential management thinkers, was typically direct when I asked him what he thought the underlying problem was: “Companies and investors worry about environmental sustainability reputation but don’t care at all about human sustainability.”

All Opinion

raj thamotheram

Long-Term Matters: Disruptive change is coming – which side will you choose?

October 2018 (magazine)By Raj Thamotheram

Prof Jeffrey Pfeffer, one of the most influential management thinkers, was typically direct when I asked him what he thought the underlying problem was: “Companies and investors worry about environmental sustainability reputation but don’t care at all about human sustainability.”

jim hawley and jon lukomnik

Guest Viewpoint: Jim Hawley and Jon Lukomnik

October 2018 (magazine)

It is fitting that we launched our ‘Purpose of Asset Management’ paper in London, not far from 221b Baker Street, the home of the famous fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes. 

Long-Term Matters: What world are we creating by saving the world?

September 2018 (magazine)By Raj Thamotheram, Christoph Biehl

The focus of ESG investment has been moving towards the environmental over several years. Topics like green bonds, carbon indices, green ETFs, portfolio carbon footprinting and decarbonisation are making headway

Long-term Matters: An apocryphal tale for wannabe climate-aware investors

July/August 2018 (magazine)By Raj Thamotheram, Howard Covington

It is impossible to know how today’s CIOs will look back on their actions in the 2010s. But, we still have time to avert the worst of runaway climate change

All Columns

jim hawley and jon lukomnik

Guest Viewpoint: Jim Hawley and Jon Lukomnik

October 2018 (magazine)

It is fitting that we launched our ‘Purpose of Asset Management’ paper in London, not far from 221b Baker Street, the home of the famous fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes. 

amla n roy

Guest Viewpoint: Amlan Roy

July/August 2018 (magazine)By Amlan Roy

Incorporating changing behaviour and technological trends in retirement planning is essential

Guest Viewpoint: Fiona Stewart & Georg Inderst

June 2018 (magazine)By Fiona Stewart, Georg Inderst

“A growing body of research shows ESG factors are a material credit risk for fixed-income investors”

Guest Viewpoint: Christopher Ailman & Mark Walker

May 2018 (magazine)

Words matter, but sometimes they can get in the way. Impact investing, mission-based investing, responsible investment, double and triple-bottom-line investing, ESG factors, and even sustainable investment. All of these terms can have both positive and negative connotations for investors. 

luke hildyard

Guest viewpoint: Luke Hildyard

March 2018 (magazine)By

“The potential impact of climate change on investments should be considered at least on an annual basis”

keith ambachtsheer

Guest Viewpoint: Keith Ambachtsheer

February 2018 (magazine)By

“CFA curriculum material should become more future-oriented and address awkward topics”

will goodhart

Guest Viewpoint: Will Goodhart, CFA UK

January 2018 (magazine)

“The responsibility for making our profession more representative of the society we serve ultimately sits with all of us”

gregg mc clymont

Guest viewpoint: Greg McClymont

December 2017 (Magazine)By

Pension systems everywhere are either struggling to manage the shift from defined benefit (DB) to defined contribution (DC) or contemplating the journey

All Guest Viewpoint

IPE QUEST

Your first step in manager selection...

IPE Quest is a manager search facility that connects institutional investors and asset managers.

Begin Your Search Here