All Insurance articles – Page 10

  • Features

    Different policies on insurance

    September 2011 (Magazine)

    Using insurance firms to provide protection for pension fund liabilities is a popular solution among DB schemes. Gail Moss looks at the various forms these insurance policies can take

  • IP Asia

    Plans for Broader, Deeper Insurance Market

    IP Asia September 2011

    Individual components of the 12th Five-year plan are steadily emerging, the latest of which relates to the insurance industry. Iain Mills reports

  • UK roundup: LSE, PIC, Somerset, BNY Mellon, PensionsFirst
    News

    UK roundup: LSE, PIC, Somerset, BNY Mellon, PensionsFirst

    2011-05-16T16:15:00Z

    Pension fund for London Stock Exchange agrees £200m buy-in with Pension Insurance Cooperation.

  • Country Report

    Belgium: On the road to insurance

    March 2011 (Magazine)

    As the cracks become more visible across the Belgian political landscape, Nina Roehrbein reports on how pension funds are dealing with their own volatility issues

  • Investors avoiding real estate, equities due to Solvency II uncertainty – Invesco
    News

    Investors avoiding real estate, equities due to Solvency II uncertainty – Invesco

    2011-01-18T14:45:00Z

    EUROPE – The uncertainty surrounding the ongoing Solvency II debate is putting many investors off real estate and equities, according to Invesco.

  • European roundup: Alitalia, Hewitt, EFAMA
    News

    European roundup: Alitalia, Hewitt, EFAMA

    2010-07-15T15:59:00Z

    EUROPE – Alitalia has announced detals of a buy-in by the Pension Insurance Corporation (PIC), while Hewitt said funding ratios in both the UK and mainland Europe had fallen sharply over the last quarter, and The European Fund and Asset Management Association (EFAMA) announced UCITS had seen strong net outflows in May.

  • Finland's Varma to take on healthcare pension
    News

    Finland's Varma to take on healthcare pension

    2010-07-05T15:18:00Z

    FINLAND – PlusTerveys, a private healthcare provider, is the latest company to transfer its pension provision to Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company.

  • RSA moves from surplus to deficit following de-risking
    News

    RSA moves from surplus to deficit following de-risking

    2010-02-26T15:50:00Z

    UK – UK-based insurer Royal & Sun Alliance has reported a deficit on the group’s pension schemes of £262m (€293.3m) at the end of December 2009, which it mainly attributed to the impact of the de-risking of the UK schemes with longevity swaps in July last year.

  • Cadbury completes £500m buy-in with PIC
    News

    Cadbury completes £500m buy-in with PIC

    2009-12-16T15:15:00Z

    [16:15 CET 16-12] UK - Trustees of the £2bn (€2.2bn) Cadbury Pension Fund have agreed a buy-in for around £500m of their pensioner liabilities with Pension Insurance Corporation (PIC).

  • Berkshire completes first LGPS longevity deal
    News

    Berkshire completes first LGPS longevity deal

    2009-12-15T15:15:00Z

    [16:15 CET 15-12] UK – The Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead (RBWM) has completed the first longevity hedging deal for a local government pension scheme (LGPS).

  • Court strengthens insurance-based pension terms
    News

    Court strengthens insurance-based pension terms

    2009-09-17T16:05:00Z

    [17:05 CEST 17-09] GERMANY – A German court has ruled that charging upfront fees related to setting up a life insurance contract for corporate pensions is only partly within the legal framework for occupational pensions.

  • Babcock confirms longevity deal with Credit Suisse
    News

    Babcock confirms longevity deal with Credit Suisse

    2009-06-26T13:00:00Z

    [14:00 CEST 26-06] UK – Babcock International has confirmed trustees of its Davenport Royal Dockyard defined benefit (DB) scheme have signed a longevity swap agreement with Credit Suisse to cap £300m (€328m) of its pensioner-in-payment liabilities.

  • Buy-in security 'helps credibility'
    News

    Buy-in security 'helps credibility'

    2009-05-15T16:15:00Z

    [17:15 CEST 15-05] UK – Over 90% of trustees and industry professionals believe insurance companies do not always need to offer additional security in pension-buy-in transactions, although it improves their credibility if they do so, Hewitt Associates has revealed.

  • Bermuda insurer targets buy-ins with 'bridge' model
    News

    Bermuda insurer targets buy-ins with 'bridge' model

    2009-05-01T12:30:00Z

    [13:30 CEST 01-05] UK/EUROPE – Bridge Pointe, a Bermuda-based insurance company, has confirmed its intention to enter the European buyout market and the UK in particular, where officials claim they could expand the market by up to £1bn (€1.12bn) in the next 18 months.

  • The market challenge of  insurance
    Features

    The market challenge of insurance

    February 2009 (Magazine)

    Sarah Dudney outlines success factors critical for asset managers operating in the insurance industry

  • L&G wins buy-in as new AUM drops 39%
    News

    L&G wins buy-in as new AUM drops 39%

    2009-01-29T15:00:00Z

    [16:00 CET 29-01] UK – The Press Association Pension Fund has completed a £60m (€65m) 'buy-in' of its pensioner liabilities with Legal & General (L&G) at the same time as the insurer revealed its gross new funds under management dropped 39% to £33.1bn in 2008.

  • Scheme costs drop 4.7% as buyouts increase
    News

    Scheme costs drop 4.7% as buyouts increase

    2009-01-28T15:10:00Z

    [16:10 CET 28-01] UK – Pension scheme expenditure on pension benefits fell by 4.7% in 2007, the first significant decrease since 1984, and a move which the Office of National Statistics (ONS) attributes to an increase in pension buyouts.

  • Pensioner-only focus to drive 2009 buyouts
    News

    Pensioner-only focus to drive 2009 buyouts

    2009-01-27T14:15:00Z

    [15:15 CET 27-01] UK – The buyout market in 2009 is expected to rise by another £8bn (€8.55bn), similar to 2008, though the focus is likely to be on pensioner-only transactions, according to Lane Clark and Peacock (LCP).

  • News

    Aegon’s cross-border arm to cooperate with €2.4bn APK

    2008-09-02T16:00:00Z

    [17:00 CEST 02-09] NETHERLANDS/AUSTRIA – The €2.5bn Austrian pension fund APK-Pensionskasse and Dutch insurer Aegon have signed a letter of intent that will allow both organisations to further expand internationally.