IPE AWARDS - Danish pension fund ATP emerged the big winner at eleventh annual IPE Awards in Brussels, with the DKK500bn (€67bn) labour-market scheme landing the Gold Awards for Best Long-Term Investment Strategy and Best European Pension Fund.

Philippe Dutertre, chairman at France's AG2R La Mondiale, won the Gold Award for Pension Fund Personality of the Year for his contributions to the development of socially responsible investment in Europe, while PensionsInfo landed the final Gold Award for Outstanding Industry Contribution.

ATP won six awards on the night, coming away with the Country Award for Denmark, the Themed Awards for DB/DC Structuring/Strategies and Risk Management Solutions and the Silver Award for Best Public Pension Fund.

The Barclays Bank UK Retirement Fund received two awards, winning the Themed Award for Pension Fund-owned Asset Manager together with joint winner British Steel Pension Fund, and the Silver Award for Best Corporate Pension Fund.

The Bronze Awards for Alternatives, Equities and Fixed Income were given respectively to Industriens Pensionsforsikring in Denmark, the ERAFP in France and PMT in the Netherlands.

The remaining Silver Awards went to Dutch fund PFZW (Best Industry-wide/Multi-employer Pension Fund) and Belgium's Belgacom Pension Fund (Best Small European Pension Fund).



The full list of winners for the IPE Awards 2011

Austria: VBV-Pensionskasse

Belgium: Pensio B

CEE: SEB Pensija 2

Denmark: ATP

Finland: Tapiola Pension

France: UMR Corem

Germany (joint winners):

Ärzteversorgung Westfalen-Lippe  Bosch                

Iceland: Frjálsi Lífeyrissjóðurinn

Ireland: ESB DC Pension Scheme

Italy: Fondenergia

Netherlands: PMT

Norway: City of Oslo Pension Fund

Portugal: Fundo de Pensões Aberto BPI Valorização

Spain: Pensions Caixa 30

Sweden: AP1/AP2 (joint entry)

Switzerland: Vorsorgestiftung Schroder & Co Bank

UK: Trafalgar House Pension Trust

Small Countries: Hotel Employees Provident Fund


Commodities: Empleados de Telefonica de España Pension Fund (Spain)

Real Estate: Clwyd Pension Fund (UK)

DB/DC Strategies: ATP (Denmark)

Emerging Markets: APK Pensionskasse (Austria)

Specialist: SAUL (UK)

In-house Investment/Pension Fund-owned Asset Manager (joint winners):

Barclays Bank UK Retirement Fund (UK) British Steel Pension Fund (UK)   

Innovation: Pension Protection Fund (UK)

Hedge Funds: Skanska Trean Allmän Pensionsstiftelse (Sweden)

Portfolio Construction: Industriens Pensionsforsikring (Denmark)

Risk Management: ATP (Denmark)

ESG/Governance: Bayerische Versorgungskammer (German)


Alternatives: Industriens Pensionsforsikring (Denmark)

Equities: ERAFP (France)

Fixed Income: PMT (Netherlands)


Best Corporate PF: Barclays Bank UK Retirement Fund (UK)

Best Industry-wide/Multi-employer PF: PFZW (Netherlands)

Best Public Pension Fund: ATP (Denmark)

Best Small European Pension Fund: Belgacom Pension Fund (Belgium)


Best Long-Term Investment Strategy: ATP (Denmark)

Pension Fund Personality of the Year: Philippe Dutertre

Outstanding Industry Contribution: PensionsInfo (Denmark)

Best European Pension Fund: ATP (Denmark)