All articles by Miranda Schoutsen – Page 2

  • 50 pension funds miss DNB deadline
    News

    50 pension funds miss DNB deadline

    2009-04-07T15:45:00Z

    [16:45 CEST 07-04] NETHERLANDS - Almost 50 Dutch pension funds with a funding shortage have yet to submit a recovery plan, a spokesman for De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) has confirmed.

  • ABP opts for rise in premiums and lower risks
    News

    ABP opts for rise in premiums and lower risks

    2009-03-31T14:45:00Z

    [15:45 CEST 31-03] NETHERLANDS - ABP will temporarily increase contributions by 1% as of July and by another 2% from 1 January 2010, in a bid to restore the underfunded civil servants’ pension scheme to its required regulatory funding level.

  • PFZW bases recovery plan on 6.9% yield
    News

    PFZW bases recovery plan on 6.9% yield

    2009-03-30T15:45:00Z

    [16:45 CET 30-03] NETHERLANDS - Pensioenfonds Zorg & Welzijn (PfZW), the Dutch industry-wide pension fund, is pinning its hopes on achieving a yield of 6.9% alongside with a long-term interest rate of 3.6%, as the basis for its recovery plan presented to the financial regulator.

  • Dutch funds given go-ahead to merge
    News

    Dutch funds given go-ahead to merge

    2009-03-30T12:00:00Z

    [30-03 CEST 13:00] NETHERLANDS - Dutch company pension funds will be allowed to merge their activities into a multi-company scheme as the cabinet has backed a proposal by social affairs minister Piet Hein Donner to amend the current Pension Act accordingly.

  • DNB’s own pension fund must submit recovery plan
    News

    DNB’s own pension fund must submit recovery plan

    2009-03-23T15:00:00Z

    [16:00 CET 23-03] NETHERLANDS - The financial buffers of the Dutch financial regulator’s own pension fund have dropped below the minimum level set by the regulator.

  • Fully-reinsured pensions face trouble - DNB
    News

    Fully-reinsured pensions face trouble - DNB

    2009-03-19T16:00:00Z

    [17:00 CET 19-03] NETHERLANDS - Dozens of Dutch company pension funds who reinsured their assets and liabilities are now being challenged by market conditions and confronted with increased credit risks at their reinsurers, according to financial regulator DNB.

  • Confidence in Dutch pensions is damaged - study
    News

    Confidence in Dutch pensions is damaged - study

    2009-03-12T15:25:00Z

    [16:25 CET 12-03] NETHERLANDS - Dutch pension funds are faced with a substantial fall in confidence, concluded a survey by the Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute, as the share of participants with confidence in pension funds has dropped from 64% to 44% percent over the last three years.

  • Bos attacks shareholder role in financial crisis
    News

    Bos attacks shareholder role in financial crisis

    2009-03-03T14:00:00Z

    [15:00 CET 03-03] NETHERLANDS - “Shareholders did virtually nothing to prevent and manage the financial crisis”, Dutch finance minister Wouter Bos said this morning at a conference in Amsterdam.

  • Smaller funds advised to claim tax refund
    News

    Smaller funds advised to claim tax refund

    2009-02-26T15:20:00Z

    [16:20 CET 26-02] NETHERLANDS – Dutch pension funds are being advised to safeguard their rights to the refund of dividend withholding tax in European countries, as recent cases in both the Netherlands and France suggest taxes claimed in contravention of EU rules may also have been taken by governments elsewhere.

  • AFM prolongs short-selling ban after all
    News

    AFM prolongs short-selling ban after all

    2009-02-25T15:50:00Z

    [16:50 CET 25-02] NETHERLANDS - The Dutch financial regulator AFM has made a surprise and extended its measures on short-selling, despite its earlier proposal to lift them.

  • Pension funds must decide on openness - Donner
    News

    Pension funds must decide on openness - Donner

    2009-02-23T13:30:00Z

    [14:30 CET 23-02] NETHERLANDS – The Dutch government has dismissed calls for more transparency of pensions fund investments and argued existing governance arrangements are strong enough.

  • Pension fund managers back short-selling proposal
    News

    Pension fund managers back short-selling proposal

    2009-02-20T14:45:00Z

    [15:45 CET 20-02] NETHERLANDS – Large Dutch pension funds appear to be backing a proposal from the Dutch Financial Market Authority (AFM) to lift the ban on short-selling.

  • Eumedion seeks end to short-selling bans
    News

    Eumedion seeks end to short-selling bans

    2009-02-10T15:00:00Z

    [16:00 CET 10-02] EUROPE - Eumedion, the Nethelands-based corporate governance forum for institutional investors, has called on European governments and supervisors to lift the remaining short-selling bans.

  • The contrarian: deflation
    Features

    The contrarian: deflation

    June 2008 (Magazine)

    Inflationary fears are exaggerated according to veteran fixed income specialist Joop Bresser. He spoke to Miranda Schoutsen about his concerns over deflation