EUROPE - The European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) has announced the names of members for its Occupational Pensions Stakeholder Group (OPSG).

The group will comprise 30 members overall, with representatives from the industry, social partners, academics and a number of beneficiaries.

Industry representatives include chief executive of the European Federation of Retirement Provision (EFRP) Chris Verhaegen and Fritz Janda, head of the Austrian pension fund association FVPK, as well as Niels Kortleve, who is manager of actuarial projects at Dutch asset manager PGGM and Joachim Schwind of Höchster Pensionskassen in Germany.

One of the five academic appointees is Dariusz Stańko, an assistant professor at the Warsaw School of Economics, as well as adviser to the Polish government on pension matters.

Philip Shier of Aon Hewitt in Ireland will be one of five further members representing the interests of occupational pension members.

Speaking to IPE, Chris Verhaegen said it was a matter of great responsibility to be chosen as a member of both the OPSG, as well as the Insurance and Reinsurance Stakeholder group, where she will represent the interests of reinsurance users.

Other recent appointments at the European agency include naming Carlos Montalvo as executive director and Gabriel Bernardino as chair of EIOPA. Bernardino held the same position at the Committee of European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Supervisors (CEIOPS) until its dissolution last year.

A full list of candidates can be found here.