NETHERLANDS - Mark Fisher, board member at Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS), will replace Rijkman Groenink as chairman of ABN Amro, as one of several changes to the Dutch bank's board.

Fisher's appointment was announced today, just a day after the Scottish lender and its partners, Belgian-Dutch Fortis and Spanish Santander, won shareholder backing to take over Holland's largest bank.

Remaining members of ABN Amro's management board will keep their positions, but with revised responsibilities, according to a joint statement released by the four banks.

That said, they will be joined by several representatives from the banking trio (RSF), including RBS' Brian Crowe, who will head up ABN Amro's global clients, capital market sand transaction banking business units.

ABN Amro's Wilco Jiskoot and Fortis' Karel de Boeck will both serve as vice chairmen, Jiskoot's responsibility being private equity, while De Boeck will focus on communications, HR and public affairs.

Other appointments include Fortis' Paul Dor for asset management and private clients, Santander's Javier Maldonado, responsible for Latin America and Santander's Marta Elorza Trueba, for Italian subsidiary Atonveneta.

Lastly, John Hourican, will leave RBS to become ABN Amro's new chief finance officer.

The banks' statement also read: "The supervisory board will continue to be chaired by Arthur Martinez. Nominated to join the supervisory Board are Jean-Paul Votron, chief executive of Fortis, Sir Fred Goodwin, chief executive of RBS, and Juan Inciarte, general manager of Santander."

David Baron de Rothschild, Marcus Pratini de Moraes, Paulo Scaroni, Lord Sharman of Redlynch and Gerhard Randa will be stepping down at the forthcoming extraordinary general meeting (EGM).

Yesterday, RSF declared its €70.3bn offer unconditional, and said it will remain open for shareholders to tender their holdings for the rest of October.