EUROPE - Thomas Steffen from the German financial services watchdog BaFin has been re-elected as chair of the Committee of European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Supervisors (CEIOPS).

Peter Braumüller, director of Insurance and Pension Company Supervision at the Austrian financial market authority FMA, was elected vice-chair.

Other new board members include representatives of financial supervisors from Italy, represented by Giovanni Cucinotta (ISVAP), the Netherlands, with the appointment of Klaas Knot (DNB) and the UK's Hector Sants (FSA).

Csaba Varga from the Hungarian supervisor PSZAF was also re-elected to the board and Antoine Mantel from the French financial authority ACAM was unanimously elected new internal auditor. 

The board consists of the Chair, the Vice Chair and four further members, all of whom are elected from among CEIOPS Members fora period of two years.

Out-of-term board elections took place earlier this year, following Henrik Bjerre Nielsen's, director general of Danish supervisor Finanstilsynet, decision to resign.

A full list of all financial authorities which are also CEIOPS members can be found here.