All Iceland articles – Page 4

  • Icelandic schemes to learn from financial crisis
    News

    Icelandic schemes to learn from financial crisis

    2010-04-16T15:30:00Z

    ICELAND – Stricter demands on brokers and asset managers and increased involvement in shareholder meetings are among the recommendations for pension funds put forward by an IPFA committee investigating lessons learned from the financial crash.

  • Icelandic pension fund assets estimated at €10bn
    News

    Icelandic pension fund assets estimated at €10bn

    2010-01-21T15:20:00Z

    [16:20 CET 21-01] ICELAND – An increase in the value of domestic securities and Housing Financing Fund (HFF) bonds led Icelandic pension fund assets to rise by ISK18.8bn (€105.2m) in November 2009.

  • Icelandic pensions establish private equity fund
    News

    Icelandic pensions establish private equity fund

    2009-12-11T15:10:00Z

    [16:10 CET 11-12] ICELAND – Sixteen Icelandic pension funds have co-founded the Icelandic Investment Fund (Framtakssjóður Íslands), which is designed to invest in domestic companies that have suffered in the financial crisis but which show potential.

  • Tax changes to Icelandic pensions could be 'hazardous'
    News

    Tax changes to Icelandic pensions could be 'hazardous'

    2009-10-09T16:05:00Z

    [17:05 CEST 09-10] ICELAND – Proposals by the opposition political party, the Independence Party, to alter the taxation of pension fund savings has been described as "hazardous" by both the Icelandic Pension Funds Association (IPFA) and the Confederation of Icelandic Employers (SA).

  • Icelandic pension funds lost 21.78% in 2008
    News

    Icelandic pension funds lost 21.78% in 2008

    2009-09-18T15:30:00Z

    [16:30 CEST 18-09] ICELAND – The real rate of return for Icelandic pension funds was -21.78% in 2008, while the value of net assets dropped by 6% to ISK1.6trn (€8.8bn), the Icelandic Financial Supervisory Authority (FME) has revealed.

  • Icelandic pensions to set up specialist fund
    News

    Icelandic pensions to set up specialist fund

    2009-09-15T15:30:00Z

    [16:30 CEST 15-09] ICELAND – Icelandic pension funds are in the process of finalising details of the Icelandic Investment Fund (IIF), which will invest in domestic businesses that have suffered in the economic crisis.

  • Icelandic pension lost 25% net in 2008
    News

    Icelandic pensions lost 25% net in 2008

    2009-06-29T15:30:00Z

    [16:30 CEST 29-06] ICELAND - The Pension Fund for State Employees (LSR) and pension fund for nurses (LH), the largest pension fund in Iceland, has reported a net real return of -25.2% in 2008.

  • Iceland to allow 'temporary' access to 3rd pillar savings
    News

    Iceland to allow 'temporary' access to 3rd pillar savings

    2009-02-11T13:30:00Z

    [14:30 CET 11-02] ICELAND – The Icelandic government plans to introduce legislation allowing holders of individual pension accounts to access their savings early to meet “dire financial difficulties”.

  • Features

    Outstanding performance from innovative newcomer

    December 2005 (Magazine)

    The Gildi Pension Fund is a new name in Icelandic pensions, but it has now won the country award in the first year of its existence. The fund was established on 1 January 2005, from the merger of two pension funds, the Framsyn Pension Fund and the Seamen’s Pension Fund. ...