Joanne Segars and Andreas Hilka have been appointed external professional members of the governing board of the pension fund for scientific research fund CERN.

Appointed by the CERN Council, they replace Adrian Cunningham and John Breckenridge, who completed the maximum of two three-year mandates at the end of 2020. The search for their successors took place from May to September last year.

Segars and Hilka are both respected pension industry veterans, Segars coming from the UK and Hilka from Germany.

Segars is currently chair of LGPS Central, one of eight asset pools formed by the UK’s local authority pension schemes, and chair of the joint expert panel on the Universities Superannuation Scheme. She is also a trustee director of NOW: Pensions, of the UK’s auto-enrolment providers, in addition to holding other positions.

She was head of the UK’s main pension fund trade body, then known as National Association of Pension Funds (NAPF), from 2006 to 2017, and a member of the board of PensionsEurope from 2010-2017, chairing the association from 2012.

Her appointment to the CERN board marks a return – from 2017-2018 she was an expert adviser to the CERN pension fund working group.

In Germany, Hilka is the executive board member responsible for asset management at Pensionskasse der Mitarbeiter der Hoechst-Gruppe and Pensionskasse der Höchster Pensonskasse. In addition to a previous spell in this role, he has worked at Credit Suisse and Allianz Global Investors, at the latter as European head of pensions.

Hilka also chairs the investment committee at aba, Germany’s main occupational pensions association.

CERN pension fund has some CHF4.5bn (€4.1bn) in assets under management and more than 7,000 members. Its CEO, Matthew Eyton-Jones, will be stepping down in July after six years in office.

Looking for IPE’s latest magazine? Read the digital edition here.