Sweden’s Fund Selection Agency (Fondtorgsnämnden, FTN) announced this morning that two members of its seven-person board have decided to leave the governing panel, with more than half of their three-year terms remaining.

The FTN said: “Two members of the board of FTN, Hans Lindblad and Åsa Edman, have requested resignation from the assignment, which was granted by the Government Office as of 25 January.”

Lindblad, the former director-general of the National Debt Office, resigned because he has been appointed as a new Swedish member of the European Court of Auditors, while Edman, chief legal officer at outsourcing firm Adda, which is part of the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions, has resigned for personal reasons, according to the statement.

The remaining five board members are the chair, Mats Sjöstrand, former director general of the Swedish Tax Agency, vice chair Maria Rydbeck, director general of the Swedish Social Insurance Agency, alongside ordinary board members Katarina Staaf, chief executive officer of national pensions buffer fund AP6; Anna Nilsdotter, secretary-general of WaterAid, and Hanna Kristiansson, judge at the Administrative Court of Appeal in Stockholm.

When ordinary board members depart, it is the government that appoints replacements, the FTN said.

The FTN is the government authority set up in 2022 to procure the privately-managed funds offered to the public in the reformed first-pillar premium pension system.

Read the digital edition of IPE’s latest magazine